My experience with a “certain retailer”

So, my iPod decided to die on me today and send me flocking to the nearest electrical store; I won’t name them but if you stalk me and have a fair mathematical understanding of my radius to the nearest electrical retailer, you may be able to figure it out or at least understand my frustration as a result of past experiences.

The first time I stepped through the doors I was greeted and given a handout; something’s on offer, it mustn’t be selling very well. My destination, like a man on a mission or a lion hunting his prey, was the Apple iPod section of the store (again, not naming the retailer for confidentiality reasons; no, basically so I won’t be hit with employees moaning at me and saying I was biased).

So many colours and versions on offer, and rather than say ‘just looking’ I thought I would make the most of the experience, considering help is free and it would add to my experience – I decided to let the nice little man help me choose a new model. For some reason, his face became shocked as if I had just asked him to pull down his pants and run around naked. You’re asking for HELP? Hang on a minute, let me lie down.

You see, they walk around and expect us to remain polite and sincere, expecting us to have read reviews and the like online. No, I’m going to act stupid and expect you to assist my every needs (apart from taking it to the car). I soon discovered that these sales people (or the minority in this case) like to sell you the most expensive model, and he didn’t listen to the fact I had given him a budget.

HERE CAME CHALLENGE #1

Question: What gigabyte is that? Answer: (looks at the descriptive card sitting next to the model) 16GB

Question: How many tracks can that hold? Answer: (looks at the descriptive card sitting next to the model) MANY MANY MANY

Question: Is it in stock? Answer: (looks at the descriptive card sitting next to the model) It doesn’t say on here

Question: Is it a good make? Answer: (looks at the descriptive card sitting next to the model) It’s Apple. It says on the card.

You see, I once worked for an electrical retailer and we managed to fine-tune the art of pretending to know all the technicalities of every product whilst slyly glancing at the description cards. The general rule is to sell the most expensive product so you share the incentives of free iPod socks and hats for your MP3 player. In fact, I can’t remember receiving any training in products and was expected to learn about products ‘on the job’ – so if you think we have more knowledge than you, think again!

As I said, I’m not naming the company or similar organisations, but I would like to at least have expert advice on purchasing an iPod! Oh, I forgot, learning is ‘on the job’ and they don’t let you take home the product cards!

About Cuts, News and Views

The site’s author is a student at the Birmingham School of Media and a journalist for both Birmingham Budget Cuts and Sony Music Entertainment. He is a PR consultant as well as having worked for the BBC. The author also contributes on a freelance basis to The Times and The Guardian. Dean Hill is a member of The Chartered Institute of Public Relations.

Posted on May 11, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

